Ottawa researchers recognized with international awards for reproductive biology and health

April 29, 2022

Drs. Barbara Vanderhyden, David Pépin and  Benjamin Tsang Ottawa’s reproductive biology researchers took the lead in international recognition this year, receiving three of 12 prestigious awards from the Society for the Study of Reproduction.

Dr. Barbara Vanderhyden was named a Distinguished Fellow of the Society for her outstanding work in the field and for her leadership, service and mentorship. Her achievements include developing refined lab models of ovarian cancer and using them to explore how tumors start, as well as testing new strategies for prevention and treatment. 

Her former PhD student Dr. David Pépin received the Virendra B. Mahesh New Investigator Award for his outstanding research, including working towards the translation of a hormone called Mullerian Inhibiting Substance for use in contraception, assisted reproduction, and protection of eggs during chemotherapy. 

Dr. Benjamin Tsang received the Jansen Distinguished Leadership and Service Award for his unselfish service and leadership in advancing the discipline of reproductive biology. Dr. Tsang’s work has provided key information for the development of new therapies for chemo-resistant ovarian cancer, and his international vision of research has led him to lead fruitful partnerships with institutions in Japan and China.

The Ottawa Hospital is a leading academic health, research and learning hospital proudly affiliated with the University of Ottawa and supported by The Ottawa Hospital Foundation.